NO BALLS (COURTSIDE THOUGHTS)

Posted: July 17, 2010 in School

I got no balls of sports. I am not a sporty person. My Dad always compels me to be so but I can’t simply do it. But now that I am torn between a PR (Public Relations) class tasks and to maximize this one-time-big-time UAAP Media ID Pass, I am now forced to sit in the courtside, right beside the announcer and watch the schools cheer for their teams. As loud cheers of “shoot or get that ball” resonate, my mind shoots its own balls too.

My PR class task is to check and assist the media covering the event, get half-time statistics and bring these to the media room. After the game, I also have to invite the winning coach and highest pointer player to the press room for post-game interviews.

Yes, it’s fun but it really takes a lot of PR skills. It’s a starstruck feeling to get near to players you just once saw in a giant ad poster or television. You have to deal with stubborn and rude media people—of course, with a smile no matter how fake it is. The first set is between AdU and ADMU, while the second match is NU versus DLSU. I really don’t care which team wins in either of the two games because it does not make any relevance to me.

There are boring times when I just stare randomly to the score board and wait the digits change, or as the Madness of Crowd Theory say, amidst the crowd, wether you like it or not, you will find yourself conforming to the majority of actions, so I clap, or stand, or something like that. It’s weird right? Surprising things come along the way too, like the What? NU’s Embe is just 18 years old and he’s already 6 feet and 1 inch tall? or Gosh, ADMU’s Salva sits next to me and he smells good. (HAHA!) But as the title of Brother’s Grimm’s fairytale suggest, all is well that ends well. The sweetest thing happened at the end of the UAAP game that day, and the rest is mine to keep.

Now there is one good reason to come back and see another UAAP game, then an inevitable smile lit on my face.

Comments
  1. Avi says:

    “The sweetest thing happened at the end of the UAAP game that day, and the rest is mine to keep.”

    – bitter ako.

    • JCataan says:

      Hay Avi 😦
      Are you serious that you feel bad? Or you’re just kidding? You know, wala naman ‘yun eh. Let’s talk in person. Hugs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

